Moving away from systemd with Devuan

A while ago, I was encouraging to give a try to systemd. Well, now I know better and decided to get away from this tool that clearly wants to replace many parts of my system at once. There are many articles about systemd, why it’s good and why it’s not. I kept on open mind of the topic, I tried systemd on many boxes. Some stuff just stopped to work, or did not work as I expected it to work. Maybe I’m clueless but I’m not alone. Point is with systemd, I’m able to do less and it takes me more time.

Now devuan is installable so I installed it already on two of my boxes. So far, no problem. I wonder how Devuan will cope with bugs reports and stuff in the long run.

The process is as simple as:

wget http://packages.devuan.org/devuan/pool/main/d/devuan-baseconf/devuan-baseconf_0.6.4%2bdevuan3_all.deb
# select ascii (= testing)
dpkg -i devuan-baseconf_0.6.4+devuan3_all.deb
cd /etc/apt/sources.list.d/
# comment  debian sources
nano sources.list
apt-get install devuan-keyring
apt-get update && apt-get upgrade
apt-get --purge remove systemd systemd-shim
dpkg --list | grep systemd
apt-get --purge remove libsystemd-journal0 libsystemd-login0
apt-get --purge autoremove
debfoster

One thought on “Moving away from systemd with Devuan

Leave a Reply

